Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (6)

Tesla review

Posted : 3 weeks, 4 days ago on 6 February 2021 02:05 (A review of Tesla)

What the hell was this movie? *SPOILERS AHEAD* The artistic choices were different, but I think they tried a little too hard to make it different and it made for a weird movie. The choice of having J.P. Morgan's daughter telling the story like she is the narrator of a documentary about Tesla with and talking about the important people in his life by saying how many results come up about them in a Google search and showing the image results. Anne Morgan wasn't really a big part of his life anyway, but somehow they portray that she was. Another weird thing was Tesla and Anne rollerskating in the parlor or foyer of the Morgan estate. But the weirdest thing of all was at the end of the movie they summarized it with a montage and had Ethan Hawke in front of a green screen doing an awful karaoke version of "Everybody Wants to Rule the World" by Tears for Fears. That reminds me, they used green screens which were purposely terrible as backdrops, which was completely unnecessarily. I get that it's an indie film with a low budget, and I get that biopics can be quite formulaic and full of tropes that they were trying to avoid. I also get that Tesla was a very unusual and eccentric man and having the movie be weird reflects that, but they took too many chances that really hurt what could have been a great film.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ava review

Posted : 2 months ago on 1 January 2021 10:11 (A review of Ava)

I was hoping this movie would be better because of the great cast. Jessica Chastain is one of my favorite actresses. Well at least she looked really good in it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Last of the Dogmen review

Posted : 3 years, 1 month ago on 23 January 2018 09:26 (A review of Last of the Dogmen)

I watched this movie on a recommendation from a family member and though I enjoyed it, it wasn't the greatest movie. I thought the narration was unnecessary and a little hacky. The idea of a hidden ancient tribe was cool. If you're into indigenous peoples' studies you will probably be entertained by this.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Let Me Make You a Martyr review

Posted : 3 years, 1 month ago on 21 January 2018 03:55 (A review of Let Me Make You a Martyr)

I watched this movie mainly because of Marilyn Manson and the several other actors from Sons of Anarchy who were in it, but I really have no idea what the hell this movie was about. I was completely lost and it probably didn't help that I was quite drunk while watching it. The acting was pretty good and believable. You can definitely see how low budget this is.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Maze Runner review

Posted : 3 years, 9 months ago on 27 May 2017 02:26 (A review of The Maze Runner)

After reading the book series I was really excited to see the movies, but I guess I won't be wasting my time with the sequels. It's too bad because the books are really enjoyable. All the changes they made and things they deleted dumb the story down too much. It also has more plot holes. I don't think this is very good even if you haven't read the books.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo review

Posted : 4 years ago on 16 February 2017 10:58 (A review of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo)

I saw the original trilogy of this. The American version pales vastly in comparison. The fact that the sequels were never made is quite telling.


0 comments, Reply to this entry